Meteor, Boulder Or Thing Of Beauty?

20130714_121137

Meteor, boulder or thing of beauty..

I’ve heard that nature abhors a vacuum – but I wasn’t expecting this sight in the clearly ancient field boundary I found on a recent walk in the local hills.

I have a mind that can quite literally link aliens, rocks and aesthetics..usually to the detriment of my intention to focus on what is actually required. However, I often enjoy the resulting mind ‘trip’.

I’m sure, if I could be bothered to ask, that the tree-bound boulder above didn’t get there by itself. I can only imagine that either some Scotsman capable of tossing cabers, or a host of burly goblins were responsible. I like to think it was the latter. On some blue moonlit night – as happened two days ago – worse the wear for a drink or two a’ Bladnoch Whisky – said unruly group hurled the boulder at the tree to impress a local, rosy-cheeked goblin gal.

20130709_132615

Walking up the lane from Larglea, my imagination runs riot.. As shown above – it would be hard to guage, from a photo’, the size and scale of the flora and fauna. Here goblins or giants might hide. The leaf – left foreground – is over 600mms across.

There are more than 50 varieties of wild flowers and plants in this lane alone. The wider landscape is a treasure-trove, inviting exploration.

Life sometimes tosses us an unexpected ‘boulder’ – around which obstacle we would really rather not have had to navigate. The choices are either to choose to be crushed – or to grow stronger, and take a new route. With time, the results can be surprisingly beautiful.

Which has given me the idea for a future post on the subject of the renewal and regeneration of textile mills, and thus also of the Borders towns I re-visited recently.

20130729_173820#1

Right – that’s me off to explore the lane, with the, by now you’ve guessed it, customary glass of wine. After the above metaphorically-challenged statement, you are forgiven for thinking ..”Aye, she’s awready been at the bottle”. See you soon – complete with over-active imagination. Soon to be chanelled (further) in an altogether new direction. Take That One Direction!

Ouch. Even I’m wincing.

About largelyhelen

Designer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Natural World. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

