Frosty Winds May Blow

Frosty Winds May Blow

20130322_145440

After our first power blackout of the year last night – and given the ominus weather forecast of the previous 48 hours – the view above is what I expected to find outdoors this morning. Thankfully it wasn’t the case. Well, not on our particular part of the SW coast of Scotland anyhow.

The threat was enough however to have me review some of the photos’ I gleefully took in our most recent ‘ice-age’.

IMG_0382

Frost, ice, and snow magically convert the landscape into a set of line-drawings – with every contour outlined and delineated to great effect. Little effort is required on the part of the photographer. Except this time I discovered something new had taken place.

IMG_0410

Somehow – since the last time I had prepared for an exhibition – my brain had ‘evolved’ a new process of elimination – I swiftly and ruthlessly edited over 3000 photographs down to 300.

For various personal reasons I had not exhibited for several years, and yet here was evidence of what I can only describe as some form of evolution of critique. I deleted many years work with speed and detachment. By the time I had finished I knew that, as a person and as a photographer – things would never again be the same.

IMG_0403

Don’t ask for an explanation. I don’t have one. All I know is I’ve learnt to trust myself, and to value myself without attaching a value – as in bad/wrong – to what I do.

A photo’ either works (effectively – and hopefully memorably – represents what I’m aiming to
achieve) or it doesn’t. That’s all there is to it.

20130331_131817

It was great fun showing the grandchildren of my friend from New Zealand the Gatehouse hills under waves of snow. It was even better when they discovered two buried sheep, which the farmer and his son gratefully dug out.

20130331_135631

The problem was.. I couldn’t sleep for days worrying how many others there were out there.

Yesterday I learnt the farmer had lost more than 300 sheep in these drifts alone. Deep in the Galloway Hills souls and livelihoods are at risk.

In the deep midwinter .. Frosty Winds May Blow.

About largelyhelen

Designer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frosty Winds May Blow

  1. Hello Helen – good to meet you on Mon. See http://www.moffatbookevents.co.uk/index.php?page=Blog for my blog

    • helenlarglea says:

      Hello Elizabeth – likewise. This is a quick reply – I look forward to viewing your blog tomorrow, and to creating a ‘related’ event here in Kirkcudbright as briefly discussed with you on Monday.

  2. Hello Helen! Happy to have found your blog! I’m a fellow blogger and photographer and this post of yours came up as I was typing my own post about winter yesterday, so I included it in my “related articles” section at the bottom of this post: http://www.joyfullygreen.com/2013/12/five-ways-to-find-beauty-in-beastly-winter-weather.html.

    I look forward to seeing more of your posts (I’m subscribing right now!)
    Cheers,
    Joy

    • helenlarglea says:

      Oh how lovely to hear from you. Quick reply for now..thank you so much for subscribing to my blog – a kindred spirit to connect with! V. busy day but looking forward to viewing your blog tomorrow. (Note: generally I try to blog on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Sometimes more pressing matters take precedence – darn it!).

      Helen

Leave a Reply

