On A Glow Slow

20140129_171031

On A Glow Slow

It’s a funny time of year..

Time for reflection on the year past – which had more of it’s “fair” share of downs in amongst the ups.. and I haven’t even mentioned the weather yet. It was a great summer, but unfortunately autumn, and especially winter, have wreaked an unfair penalty – seemingly worldwide.

Here in Kirkcudbright – the boat crews have had a hard time getting out.. and there will no doubt be more “curfews” to come.

20140129_162249

I have been dealing with a lot of issues ‘across the board of life” .. and have found the last few weeks in particular both exhilarating and draining in equal measure. This year I promised (myself) would be one of upheaval. A strange choice of word you may think – but I know that I often get stuck in ways of thinking – by trying to be ‘noble and dutiful’. In reality, whilst I might manage some kindnesses and ‘good deeds” along the way – time and thought also need spent on furthering my own aims…or I just end up exhausted, being a martyr, and end up still bemoaning what I was bemoaning at the previous years beginning!

20140129_162655#1

So I’m up for some upheaval – ‘cos I reckon I’ll need up-heaved out of the sorry, old, squishy comfort zone of a sofa I’ve got myself embedded in.

20140114_091744

What’s that got to do with the Glow Slow of the title? Well..while I’m aiming to go fast forward with some completely new skills (e.g: just had the 2nd of my first ever motorbike lessons, in pursuit of passing my test asap) I also intend to balance new risk-taking with some of life’s slower pleasures and pursuits. Most importantly, I will look after my well-being – so that it supports the rest.

Someone famous – was it Rudyard Kipling? – said “… take the time to stand and stare.”

20130612_132912

As I stand and stare, in my Glow Slow, I may just notice when the darkness of the winter turns to light.

.. And experience it through more than – just – the lens of a camera.

About largelyhelen

Designer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Life In Focus, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

