Hopefully, There’ll Be Doughnuts

Hopefully, There’ll Be Doughnuts

20140326_135613

At the beginning (my beginning) I wish I’d known that happiness lay in the moments, not the major chunks of life. Except that finding this out is probably the only lesson we were ‘meant’ to learn .. which would have kinda’ defeated the object of it all.

20140326_140229

Given that life, by definition, is lived in the moment only.. and not as our heads would have it – out there in a future as yet unlived,; or in a past on perpetual reflux, like a bad meal – I have learnt to value fragments of the unlikeliest days.

20140326_144103

Warmed by tea on the doorstep, daffodils the colour of breakfast egg yolks – I thought how suddenly security can turn to instability. Moments in time are the actual fabric of happiness – fabric woven of the weft of family and friends; and the warp of passing time and circumstance.

20140326_135838

Happiness is not a destination.. it’s the journey. I have no idea what wisdom is – I suspect I’m well short of the necessary measure – I only know that we should enjoy every rare moment of peace, plenty, joy, laughter and freedom. Not ours by expectation or by right – we earn them by our willingness to create them in the first place.

20140326_135704

Above all by our willingness to admit (and not just in our heads) to our desire, our vulnerability, our needs, our mistakes. Failure is accumulated experience on a path to wisdom.

20140326_140317

I continue to believe that at the end of the journey is a really great pot of coffee – shared with someone I can’t wait to meet again.

I hope it takes place in a garden full of daffodils.

Hopefully, There’ll Be Doughnuts.

About largelyhelen

Designer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Life In Focus, Natural World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

