Move On Down The Road

Move On Down The Road

20140711_224755

It’s surely a universal experience to be suddenly – mentally – assailed by the question:- “Where the hell am I ..and what am I supposed to be doing?”

I stopped to take a photo of this night sky a few miles from home, recently, and took a moment or two to think. Dangerous. The thinking; not the parking spot into which I pulled.

20140716_120759

Too late to do little more than recover my senses – I postponed the thinking till the morrow – and took the low road home.

Now, sat in a favourite cafe.. I revisit the moment back there.

At, what occurs as, a very new, exciting time in life.. two new nephews, two new grandchildren .. and other very welcome developments; life and the future look interesting at the very least. So why the existential moment on the road?

20140712_084434

With – as we all have – many sets of circumstances to juggle, many promises to keep and commitments to honour- it can seem that I’m suspended in mid-air as though on a motorway flyover. I look down on all choices/ possibilities/impacts and consequences as though Formula 1 racing drivers were demonstrating an intricate set of intertwining manouvres in slow-motion below.

It doesn’t seem possible to pull it all off safely..not to spectacularly crash and burn in a blaze of story. (Glory would be too far-fetched in this scenario).

Then – amidst the chaos of my imagining my future incapacity to juggle all that life is conjuring up.. I suddenly get it. The beautiful night sky had merely thrown me a lifeline. A moment to wander through the marvels showing up, the chances to be taken, the new and wonderful relationships to be nurtured and explored, people to be loved.

No middle-of-the-road experience this. This is a time to screech to a halt, park safely, put on the brakes..

and revel in the wonder of it all.

10545038_10100912476482221_1267347713_n-1

Only then shall I.. Move On Down The Road.

Move On Down The Road 2014

About largelyhelen

Designer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Life In Focus, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

