Sea-Change

Sea-Change

In ‘The Tempest’ Shakespeare writes: “..nothing of him that doth fade. But doth suffer a sea-change into something rich and strange”. A sea-change is a radical change or transformation – such as those events brought about by the sea’s power to wreak inexplicable change.

Such is the change in the weather here. Exactly a week ago – I was sun-bathing in the garden contemplating ordering a new swimsuit. Today I wore my warmest coat and gloves to walk the dog.

2015-04-27 16.28.16

Recently – as previously referred to – I had my first motorbike training session after injury to a hand a year before. At that time I hadn’t got far at all. Literally 🙂

This time I underwent a change so radical as to have me feel like all the molecules in my body had been re-arranged. As a child/adult – I had never learnt even to ride a push-bike. The concept of balancing on two wheels was, and for now still is, entirely alien. Four wheels is fine – I’ve been driving for 30 years.

2015-04-27 16.32.30

It remains to be seen if I will ever make a motorbike-rider. My journey – from getting my feet to leave the ground at all (shaking like a leaf) to riding somewhat inept circles and an odd figure-of-eight was NOT a pretty sight.

I do not have any embarassment saying this. I’m astonished at how strong my fear was.. and delighted I overcame it.

2015-04-27 16.34.24#1

If you think I’m daft telling people how inept I am – get over yourself – if it helps any other small woman learning; or in the same position as me fear-wise ..then it’s worth looking a bit silly.

If this learning curve leads to full-on motorbike riding – I’ll be as amazed as anyone.
The jury is out. They could be some time.

2015-04-27 20.52.31

Sea-Change

Helen

About largelyhelen

Designer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Acitvity Central and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

