The Wonder Of White

The Wonder Of White

2016-03-07 11.00.44

In the visible spectrum white reflects light and is the presence of all colours. Associated with innocence, simplicity, spirituality, goodness, safety, brilliance, cleanliness, the colour of new beginnings, wiping the slate clean.

Of these I know little and ascribe even less. As a friend of mine often says “I know nuthin’..

2015-05-31 09.40.25

What I enjoy is the power of white to define shape, and attract light – in the garden and wider landscape. I enjoy the excuse to try to capture it. As though it were a wild horse. It’s sometimes as difficult to draw or photograph as a runaway horse.

2015-06-04 12.29.59#1

I was on a horse that ran away once. It crossed a main road – at speed – missing a pale blue ford cortina by a hair’s breadth, finally depositing me in a vegetable patch. I was the one who didn’t get fed.

2015-07-19 19.32.56

Anyhow – as you will have noticed – this post was just an excuse to show some of my favourite white “jewels”. I have never got over the sight of my first snowdrop.

2016-02-14 17.13.39#1

You could say I’m easily pleased. Thank goodness for white – the combination of all colours in one.. the illusion of none. The beautiful paradox.

2015-07-09 10.35.48#1

The Wonder Of White

About largelyhelen

Designer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Natural World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

