The Travelling Light

The Travelling Light

20170129_1429071

Today – after an intense week – I’ve been attempting to travel light. On foot, by motorbike, and in my head. After a short bike ride, and a coffee to go along the shore, hearing geese fly in overhead to land close by the house, but out of sight – I chose to head out with my camera and, creep up on them – as much as you can when ten times their size and dressed in bike gear – minus helmet.

20170129_143345

They led me a merry dance and this time I was unable to catch them on the ground. A walker, sheep fleeing, and then a helicopter put up the geese – but in aiming at them I found myself missing geese and catching landscapes.

20170129_143101

After carrying an old minor injury all week compounded by a few new bruises – it was wonderful to be feeling like a person and not a bag of aching bones – I almost felt weightless as I climbed the low ridges behind the house – having learnt long ago to head along the animal tracks. The line of least resistance is good for the knees.

20170129_143422

To my left a pocket of travelling light showed a mountain peak on Mull tipped with snow behind copper cliffs above indigo seas. A combination I can see looking well on the catwalks of Milan. To my right the geese, their bodies turned to silver, banked over another ridge in search of a peaceful landing-pad.

20170129_171814

The islands wildlife, missing over winter – presumed dead or in hiding from the cold and the cull – is returning with the sun. The weight of dark winter thoughts is lifted and I rejoice in the land and the sea, as ever.

The travelling light carries me home.

The Travelling Light

About largelyhelen

Designer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Natural World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

