The Improbable Sunset

The Improbable Sunset

20170212_135236

There are evenings when we wish the sun would set sooner.. and nights when we doubt the sun will rise again. The daylight hours preceding them are often improbably beautiful..one such recently produced what we’ve come to call the “snowdrop sunset” (which occurred as way too sugary a title for a girl who doesn’t even do pink).

20170215_181114

What could be better than a path lined with snowdrops? Since I was not much higher than the flower, I’ve loved them. I clearly remember my mum showing me my first at the edge of a field, on a favourite walk.

20170208_180814

Each exquisitely simple bud and bloom formed – as I thought then – from snow. Another bit of evidence for my child-like belief in the magical qualities of nature.. a belief that survives into late adulthood.

20170207_170634

Which can be the only reason why it occurred to me to wonder how a sunset looks from the point of view of a snowdrop. I make no apology – it’s a lovely, rose-tinted world down there.

The Improbable Sunset

About largelyhelen

Designer, photographer, writer.
This entry was posted in Natural World and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

